top of page

Author Interview with Marlayne Giron

Hello, and welcome back to another amazing author interview, this time with the fabulous Marlayne Giron!


At what point did you decide you wanted to write and publish?

I was inspired to write my first book, The Victor, by an Amy Grant song called "Fairytale" back in 1981 (when there were only typewriters to write with). I tried for years and years to get it published then life got in the way, marriage, illness, infertility, adoption and working full time. It was finally published in 2009 and republished again in January of 2023 with a new cover. I have always loved to write and am a vociferous reader. My favorite genre is historical fiction, and my favorite authors are J.R.R. Tolkien and Stephen R. Lawhead.

Do you have a favorite character?

I would have to pick the heroine of my latest book, Second Chance Inn - Rachel Winston, because she is basically me (only younger, slimmer and more of a survivor than I would be if I lost my husband).

What is your favorite genre to read? To write?

I write as I am inspired to. Unfortunately, I don't have a million ideas swimming around in my head, but I have managed to write 4 books that I am very proud of, each in a different genre. The Victor is historical fantasy/fiction and modeled after the main themes of the Bible. I tell people that it's the Bible rewritten as a medieval love story. Make a Wish is similar to the Chicken Soup for the Soul books where I grant real people their deepest heartfelt wishes in storyform and put them in their own stories as the "star". The emotional response to these stories from not only the subjects but readers who don't even know them, was amazing. In Plain Sight is Amish Romance with a little bit of sci-fi thrown in. (think Romeo & Julie + Out of the Silent Planet + the Mel Gibson movie Signs). It's a very FUN read. Second Chance Inn is Amish/Contemporary Romance and the most personal book I've ever written and comes from an entirely different perspective as far as Amish fiction goes.

What is your most proud writing accomplishment?

The Victor - I waited over 30 years to see it in print and to have received so many wonderful reviews from total strangers was completely gratifying. Do you have a specific writing process? First, I must have inspiration. For The Victor, the line in Fairytale that was the inspiration was "...two princes wage the battle for eternity but the victor has been known from the start." Once I have the inspiration, I just start typing the movie I see playing out in my head, paragraph by excruciating paragraph.

Anything else you'd like to tell the audience?

I'm in the market to grant more wishes for a second "Make a Wish" type of book. The stories are gifts - there is no catch. When I have enough compiled for another book, I'll publish one.

Plug your socials!

Instagram: #mmgiron

Facebook: Author Marlayne Giron

Twitter: @GironMarlayne





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page