top of page

"DARK" is a Dream Come True

Well, I've done it.


Done what, Dawn? I hear you asking. Published a novella?


I understand your confusion, my friend. I never really brought up "DARK" specifically before this week. It didn't exist before the start of this year, really.


So, how is it a dream come true?


Well, I've been writing for as long as I can remember. And since the age of probably 10, I've been writing zombie fiction. I've had many renditions and starts, in notepads and Google docs. I have a pretty elaborate zombie apocalypse universe, all under the umbrella of "A Scarlet Dawn."


You've literally never talked about this before.


And I've never talked about how I used to have one of the most popular Daryl Dixon X Reader fanfictions on Wattpad. Me and zombie apocalypse stories are as intertwined as two things can be.


My dad showed me George Romero's zombie movies, I've watched The Walking Dead, and I used to read zombie novels in search of the best ones (which, by the way, the best is Jonathan Maberry's Rot and Ruin.)


But, I never finished one.


Why? I don't know. The same reason I still have never finished "Shadow." Because it's important and special, and I'm scared of finishing it and finding out it's not as good as I poured into it.


Or 'cause I can't finish anything for heck.


I don't know, I just work here.


So, anyways, coming back to the topic at hand: this book. "DARK" takes place in my wider "A Scarlet Dawn" universe. It's a zombie novella. That I finished writing. And am putting out.


Not too big a deal or anything. Just a lifelong dream coming to fruition.


Oh, and it's a collaboration. With Angela R. Watts.


You know.


Only a person I've admired for YEARS and never possibly dreamed I'd collaborate with. Just a microcelebrity and a personal hero of mine. If you're a Realmie or person in Ohio, apparently (I'm talking specifically about Erin Dydek haha) then you probably know the bestselling and award-winning author Angela R. Watts.


Only two dreams, one not even dared to be dreamed, coming true in one little novella that I love with my whole being. Only two dreams that have come true after I all but forgot how to dream.


So, I guess, here's to dreaming, and writing, and the end of the world.


Can't wait for you guys to read this one.





16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page