top of page

BOOK REVIEW: Mission of Freedom- The 14th & Author Interview!

“Jewel is an ordinary teenager well acquainted with grief, pain, and rejection. Her problems, however, are anything but ordinary. She longs to be truly loved, cherished, and accepted and struggles with compromise of her beliefs, but God has a different plan.  Join Jewel as she is swept up in an unexpected journey to discover God’s will for her life. On the way, she learns to trust God no matter what and to have faith. She also uncovers her long-lost mission–a mission of freedom.”


Mission.jpg

When I first signed up to read this book I didn’t have this description, I just signed up for the heckles of it. This book has an absolutely gorgeous cover, as you can see, and a very intriguing description. As I first read it, I was a little disappointed, only because I have some personal preferences; I felt like the emotional scenes weren’t as impactful as they could be, and the prophecy went by so, so fast.

Why?

Because, what I didn’t realize, was this book wasn’t a full length novel or even a novella; it was a short story. And, in terms of short stories, this one was absolutely amazing.

It was intense, full of action, and very interesting. It dealt with many issues like trusting God, dating, courtship, and human trafficking. There’s a cute little love relationship between Jewel and one of her teammates, and plenty of action.

There are a few things (purely subjective preference) I didn’t like as much as I wish I would have. Jewel trusts God entirely, and sometimes it kills any intensity that was created, creating a bland feeling, but, again, that is a personal preference. Besides intensity being lost, the whole short story was very good overall.

I give it a 3.5/5 stars.

You can find the book here on Amazon!

And here is the amazing author interview from Naomi Sowell!
































Hello, Naomi! So, you wrote a book! What is the book about and what inspiration did you have to write it?

   Hey, Dawn! Yes, I’m super excited! It’s about God’s redeeming love and how it sets us free. I use the issue of human trafficking and unexplained loss of loved ones to illustrate that. For the past five years, I’ve spent up to two months of my summer in Eastern Europe. The hopeless of my generation over there and here in the States has weighed heavy on my soul. I wanted to make difference and share that message in a way that would interest as many people as possible. I thought that a fictitious story would be a perfect tool. I prayed, “Lord, here’s the plot. What do you want me to do?” He guided me through the whole storyline, and it’s been really cool.



Why did you choose the name ‘Mission of Freedom’?

As a Christian, I’m on a mission for my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, to reach lost people for Him. I also wanted the title to portray the battles and victories of the Christian life. I’m on a mission of freedom myself to bring His freedom to all who’ll listen.



Which character do you think you’re most like? Why?

Probably a mixture of all four main characters. I have insecurities like Jewel and sometimes struggle with trusting God. Like Liberty, when I’m confident in my faith, I feel the passion rising to share His message and free the hurting. I also think I have a little sarcasm and mischief like Justice and Luke. The friendly banter is reminiscent of some family conversations in my home.



Who is your favorite character?

Oh, that’s a hard one. I’d have to say Jewel. I enjoyed watching her develop in the story. Though each of the characters have a special in my heart.



What do you hope for for Mission of Freedom?

I hope and pray that it will raise awareness of human trafficking. I want this book to grab the attention of my generation to seek out their God-given calling and use it for His glory. It’s never too late to live for Him!



Now let’s ask about you! How old are you? 

   I’m seventeen years old; I turn eighteen on February 2nd.



Tell me about yourself!

I’m a child of the King!!! My twin sister, Abigail, and I are in the middle of four boys. Jacob and Joshua are my older brothers, and John-Mark and Justus are my younger brothers. I’m homeschooled and hopefully will begin preparing for my GED soon. I play the upright bass with family in our band The Sowell Family. We won the Youth in Bluegrass in Silver Dollar City which you can see on YouTube. We travel 80% of the time, and I love it! I also play piano, guitar, and ukulele. I love reading, writing, history, football, good movies, and our mission trips. I’m learning German, Serbian, Romanian, Hungarian, and Slovakian. I’m a weird combination of tomboy and and young woman. I think that covers everything!

What do you like to do?

   I like to read, write, play sports like football and volleyball when I’m not injured, and spending time with my family. I love learning new things! Our summer mission trips, Thanksgiving, and Christmas are my favorite times of the year.



Where can your readers buy your book?

As far as I know, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and any other book selling website. I also think bookstores like Books-A-Million.



Any final words for our readers?

  God loves you! No matter what you’ve done or what’s been done to you, He loves you anyway. You can accept it or reject it, but it’s the truth. I pray that if you haven’t experienced that love, that you will stop today and ask Him to save you and received that unconditional love.

Thank you, Dawn, for allowing me to share!

Thanks all!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page