top of page

Preview Of NaNoWriMo! PLUS LIFE UPDATES

So, if you follow my Facebook page, you know I started my NaNo writing early because I’m trash and I don’t know how busy November will be, and my word count goal is around 2,000 a day, so that’s a stretch.

Pray writer’s block stays at bay because I actually wanna finish this year.

If you DON’T follow my Facebook page;

Here is my preview on my NaNoWriMo story ‘The Absolutely Normal Person’s Guide to Surviving Death’.

“Elaine was absolutely normal. Well, as normal as a person can be. We all know normality depends on your culture, and that every person is different (unless you’re a clone of course) but, to the standards of the community she lived in, she was absolutely normal. Her name meant ‘sun’. She lived with her cranky aunt on a farm just inside the wall of the village. Her mother was a busy seamstress taking care of her new baby sister, and her father was a busy politician trying to get enough money to buy a house for his rapidly growing family. She was living with her aunt because she needed schooling and love (to which her parents felt they were being inadequate). She didn’t get much love, but, she could do her mathematics. 

Elaine wasn’t sure of her exact age (for those make the best stories, don’t they?), but she did know she was older then the 13-year-olds because she didn’t do petty things like stick worms down people’s shirts as they walked past, and she wasn’t 15 because she wasn’t snobby and cared nothing of makeup or hairstyles (though she did brush her hair at least), so, therefore, she must be 14 and a half, because it was smack dab in the middle.

Elaine had straw-like hair and honey golden skin. Her eyes were pale blue and her smile could light up her whole face. She was like sunshine and joy all bottled up into one body that was finally starting to fill out, making some of the older girls envious. 

The ancient studies teacher (both in age and the course she taught) continued to drone on, and Elaine felt her eyelids drooping. Usually Elaine could stay awake pretty well, but now they were learning about the development of long-ago countries and their weird kinds of technology. She honestly couldn’t have cared any less about the technologies, so she didn’t understand why they had to learn it. She would have rather been reading about the tales of heroes from those ancient times. 

Tales of lovers and leaders, of men who could concentrate fire into small beams that turned on and off by their will, of brave soldiers and great wars. Elaine loved these stories and (even though they probably weren’t true) she remembered them with a passion. She thought about these tales daily. 

She didn’t want to learn about the outdated and strange technologies. Elaine already knew all she needed to know; that in the past peoples were stupid. They thought small white doses of dangerous elements (called ‘pills’) would cure them. The present was wise enough to know that the pills killed the good and bad things in your body, and that taking them would help, but probably hurt you worse later. 

Elaine didn’t need to know about metal men (knights with souls but no life) whom once helped the people, or about talking paper encased in metal frames. 

Finally, the teacher let them go and Elaine snatched up her charcoal pencil and bound paper, shoved them in her leather satchel, and booked it out of the school. Between her aunt’s house and the school was a forest (if you think that’s too convenient, most of the town is just randomly set buildings with lots of trees in between them. The wall around the village doesn’t even go all the way around, the architects of the town weren’t particularly wise.). Most people in the village didn’t like to travel through the dark parts of the forests, but Elaine disliked walking long distances behind slow people even more, so she started off towards the forest. 

The forest was actually very beautiful that particular evening. The sunlight streamed in between the dark green leaves, shooting rays of warm golden and emerald onto the shaggy, green carpet of grass and ferns. Little, white starflowers twirled out of the ground and bent toward the sun beams. The air smelt of floral perfume and warm bark. 

Elaine found her surroundings to be particularly pleasant, so she took the moment to relax. She dropped her satchel on the ground and plopped down on a sun-warmed circle.”

I’m trying a new writing style so we’ll see how this works…

What I’m going to try and do is at the end of every week update you guys on my total word count, word count of the week, and how many words I have left to write. I’m starting to write early because I know there are days I won’t get to write, so I’m trying to prepare for that by making up for it. I have to pretty much write entire chapters in a day, because that above isn’t even 1k words.

giphy-facebook_s

Do you even see the pain inside of ‘my’ eyes?


On another topic, which is;

Life Updates!

On Saturday I have both a Halloween party I’m going to, AS WELL AS I got an interview for a job so I totally might actually get money for once in my life. So, please, fingers crossed and prayers that I get it! It’s a nice clothing store, so I’ll clothing 25% off! *happy little dance* I really hope I get this, though. Seriously.

As for My British Bear, it’s going well. I’ve sold 6 paperbacks and 2 ebooks in the last two months. I was told I can get a library in the city next to us to showcase it if I buy one of my paperbacks and sign it to them (yassssss), as well as I think my library might be purchasing it (fingers crossed my dudes).

Speaking of Libraries, I’m going to a Stranger Things event at mine tonight, so I’ll probably make a post of all the fun from that!!

In other news getting professional (like Kirkus) reviews literally cost your blood. It’s $475 for a 250 word review. Probably worth it, but I don’t have one dollar, so it’s not happening.

Also, guys, shout out to the amazing and beautiful Kellyn Roth because even though I backed out of her blog tour last minute she still did mine, and she even put My British Bear in her to-read list on GoodReads, so she is just an angel and love her and I consider her a friend and just yes go find her and follow her and read her books.

Thanks all! Bye!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page